Big Wheel Keeps on Turnin

My Spinning Wheel

I’d like to take this opportunity to introduce the world to my spinning wheel.  She is a Kromski Mazurka in the light finish, and I love her with every fiber (pun intended) of my being.

I have never taken a spinning class, never sat down with a master spinner to learn the tricks, and have had very few opportunities to even watch other spinners.  Like many of my crafts, I have taught myself from books, and of course from YouTube!

CVM on the bobbin

As a result, I don’t spin the finest of yarns.  They are uneven.  They are usually thicker than I intend.  And my singles are too tight, my ply’s too loose.

But I don’t really mind.  What I love is the process of spinning.  I love sitting at my wheel and transforming lovely fiber into lovely yarn.  I love the process of drafting.  And I love the zen moment when everything is working together just the way it is supposed to.  I love the challenge of spinning different types of fibers and figuring out how thick the singles need to be.  Can I use a long draft or a shorter draft?  More efficient and experienced spinners know these things before they start.  But I like to figure it out as I go.  It doesn’t take long.  And it’s all part of the process.

Posted on May 5, 2011, in spinning, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

