A Cozy Cuppa

Tea Cozy and Coasters

 

As the weather gets cooler and shades of Autumn are seen, my thoughts turn to a nice pot of tea on a Sunday afternoon.  Since I don’t have a fireplace, I am usually wrapped up in an afghan on the couch to enjoy my tea.

Showing off my teapot

 

This was made as a gift for my mother.  Shhh, don’t tell!  She doesn’t read my blog so no chance she will be tipped off before the big day.  Anyway, I was looking through some of my craft books, trying to come up with something to make for her.  And this seemed like a lovely idea.  Not only does she collect teapots, but she enjoys drinking tea as well.  In fact, in seemed like such a great idea, I made two!

 

And another tea cozy with costers

This one is staying here, but it may go up for sale in my Etsy some at some future date.

These were super easy to make and a lot of fun two.  Each cozy/coaster set uses one fat quarter of cotton fabric, and one fat quarter of flannel.  I cut a rectangle in each 10″ x 18″, rounded off the top corners and sewed them together up the sides and across the top.  I added the ribbon at the top as a nod to a traditional tea cozy.

I put the flannel piece inside the cotton piece, wrong sides facing and put some binding around the bottom edge.  I had enough fabric to cut four squares 4.5″ on each side.  I sewed them together right sides facing, leaving a space to turn them.  After I turned them right side out, I pressed then top stitched around the edges.

Anyone ready for a cuppa?

Posted on September 15, 2011, in Fabric and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

