Ignorance Is…

Pretty!

You can fill in the blank!  Here’s how an unfortunate set of mistakes led to a fortunate result!

Most people who know me, know that I am…hmmm…well, mathematically challenged.  And I am particularly challenged in measurements.  This has resulted in a number of interesting choices in lengths of fabric to buy — sometimes too much, sometimes too little.  Also some serious miscalculations in the number/size of blocks needed for a quilt.  In part, this is why I embrace art quilts…very little measuring involved!

This length of fabric was meant to be Exercise 1 in Jane Dunnewold’s book, Complex Cloth.  (By the way, this is an awesome book and if you are at all interested in surface design I highly recommend you get this.)  In this exercise, you are to immersion dye the fabric, discharge, overdye, and stamp the fabric.  So I measured out the water and chemicals, added the dye powder and dyed the fabric a really lovely light blue.

After I washed it out, I thought that the dye didn’t penetrate the fabric like it should, but it was a nice result so I moved on to step 2.  This step is to discharge the fabric with household bleach.  (Discharging removes the dye.)  I don’t like the smell of bleach, and I found a bleach pen in my drawer so I just used that.  It didn’t work…the design I drew with the bleach pen on the fabric did not discharge.

So I just moved on to step 3, overdying the fabric.  Again I mixed up the chemicals, added the dye powder and dyed the fabric.  About three hours later, I looked at my dye bucket, then looked at a 5 gallon bucket, and looked again.  I was only using 2 gallons of water instead of 4 gallons in my dye solution.  What happens is that the fabric does not have enough room to move around, so the dye doesn’t penetrate the fabric evenly.

I pulled this fabric out of the dye bath, washed it out, and I love it!  I can do Exercise 1 some other time.  In the meantime I am going to enjoy my ignorance!

 

Posted on September 30, 2011, in Fabric, quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Just wanted to give you a shout from the valley of the sun, great information. Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

