Creative Journey

Beginning

Where does your creative journey begin?

Mine began many moons ago, when I was a child.  Maybe it was simply that my mother wanted to keep me busy.  (Hi Mom!)  Or maybe she wanted to share her interests with me.  Regardless, I started stitching (crewel embroidery) when I was about five.  I moved on to knitting and sewing soon after.  My best birthday present when I was 10 was a sewing machine.

My road has had many branches.  I played the violin for many years, performing in a youth orchestra which toured the US and Europe.  (All kinds of awesome to travel like that while in college!)  For many years, my craft/art of choice was cross stitch.  At the same time I kept sewing.  I even took my sewing machine with me to grad school.  And back then, it wasn’t what the cool kids were doing!

When I moved to Ohio, I discovered quilting.  I joined a guild and learned how to put a quilt together.  I think I even took a class offered by the guild, in spite of not learning well in classrooms.  I kept up with other crafts as well…knitting and some other random things that I can’t remember now.

Somehow, from traditional quilting I found art quilts.   I still keep my hand in with knitting, spinning, sewing, traditional quilting and even some mixed media work.  These seem to give me the balance I need to create my art quilts.  And my photography plays a huge role in the inspiration for my art quilts.

All the branches in the road have come together.  My road is clear, and my journey has a destination.

Where does your creative journey begin?

Posted on October 13, 2011, in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment